A Unique Museum Experience


The Museum is housed in the 1905 Friends Boarding Home which looks very much as it did when retired Quakers and single school teachers lived there in its early days. As the gateway to the Quaker Historical District in Waynesville, Ohio, the Friends Home operates as a cultural center for the village, and for Wayne and Massie Townships of Warren County. It sits at the top of Quaker Hill two blocks off downtown Waynesville. Twenty-two rooms of historic exhibits are offered on three floors. Each room highlights a local community or an aspect of early Quaker life, period clothing, local medicine and education, and more! The Quaker Historical District is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

While closed to the general public from mid-December through March, the museum office is open throughout the winter for group tours and research requests.   Call or email us and we will respond promptly.

Flash News!!

► The Museum will be CLOSED Easter weekend (Saturday, April 19).

► Summer ghost tours can now be booked online.

► New link to Ohio River National Freedom Corridor.

Calendar updated for 2014 events

► Spring 2014 Newsletter posted

► View the Waynesville Walking Tour Brochure

► New Overnight Excursion - Eclectic Encounters May 5 & 6, 2014

We're planning another overnight coach tour.  We're calling it "Eclectic Encounters, a visit to fascinating tri-state places that shaped our history."  Details to follow.

Christmas Tour of Homes Photos, December 7,2013

► Waynesville and the Museum on TV in Cleveland

A local TV show in Cleveland has a segment called "One Tank Trips" which highlight places to visit within a drive of one tank of gas.  Watch this interesting video on Waynesville, "the most haunted village in Ohio".  Featured are the Museum's ghost tours, the Museum and Hammel House.

► Donations can now be made online.

► Memberships can now be purchased online.




The WAHCC at The Friends Home, Inc.  ~   115 S. 4th Street, P.O. Box 12, Waynesville, Ohio 45068 513.897.1607
© The Waynesville Area Heritage & Cultural Center at The Friends Home, Inc., 2013